Five College Center for World Languages

Mount Holyoke College students can study more than 60 languages through the Five College Consortium, including more than 40 less-commonly taught languages available through the Five College Center for World Languages (FCCWL):

  • Comprehensive four-skills (speaking, listening, reading, writing) courses in: Hindi, Persian, Swahili, Turkish, and Urdu
  • Supervised Independent two-skills (speaking, listening) courses in: Afrikaans, Amharic, Arabic dialects (Egyptian, Levantine, Moroccan), Bangla/Bengali, Bosnian-Croatian-Serbian, Bulgarian, Burmese, Cantonese for Mandarin Speakers, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Filipino/Tagalog, Finnish, Georgian, Modern Greek, Haitian Creole, Igbo, Indonesian, Modern Irish, Nepali, Norwegian, Thai, Modern Tibetan, Twi, Ukrainian, Urdu, Vietnamese, Wolof, Yoruba, and others
  • Language availability is subject to change

All courses feature structured independent study, small group work with peer conversation partners, and an emphasis on oral proficiency. Courses are offered for beginning, intermediate, advanced, and heritage learners.

For a full list of languages available for study through the FCCWL, visit:


How does a student register? Visit, choose your language of interest, and follow the application instructions.

Where do courses meet? Sessions take place on all five campuses. Students are assigned to whichever session best meets their educational needs, with preference given to their home campus or a nearby campus location when possible.

When do courses meet? Sessions are scheduled at the beginning of the semester based on the availability of individual students, so they are easy to fit into almost any schedule.

How many credits do courses earn? Most FCCWL courses earn the equivalent of 1.5–2 Mount Holyoke credits.

Is there a fee for taking these courses? Like all Five College interchange (cross-registration) courses, FCCWL courses are free for Five College students.

For more information, visit or contact